ISTC chapter of National Technical Honor Society recognizes charter members

Sixteen J. F. Ingram State Technical College students representing six career technical programs are charter members of the ISTC chapter of National Technical Honor Society. The group was recognized during a luncheon ceremony at ISTC’s Draper instructional service center in November.

ISTC Associate Dean of Instruction Dr. Julliana Probst, co-advisor to the group, explained how members are selected. “Candidates are nominated by their career technical instructors,” said Probst. “They confirm the nominees demonstrate skills essential for success in the workplace; not only technical skills, but also attitude, teamwork, initiative, dependability and leadership.” Candidates must also meet rigorous academic standards, maintaining a 3.5 grade point average.

Upholstery student Henry Jones was nominated by instructor Sandy Caylor. “Henry is has strong technical skills and communicates well with others; best of all, he comes in every day ready to work,” said Caylor.

ISTC president Annette Funderburk expressed her pride in the students, citing the importance of organizations like NTHS. “This is an outstanding group of students. Recognizing their achievement not only benefits the honorees,” she said, “it motivates other students to strive for success as well.” NTHS members will be recognized during commencement ceremonies in May.